The titular engineers of 2021 | MIT News



The School of Engineering announced that MIT has granted tenure to eight faculty members in the departments of chemical engineering, electrical and computer engineering, materials science and engineering, mechanical engineering, and nuclear science and engineering.

“This year’s new tenured professors are truly inspiring,” said Anantha Chandrakasan, Dean of the School of Engineering and Vannevar Bush Professor of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science. “Their work as educators and academics has shown an incredible commitment to teaching and research – they have each made a huge impact in their fields and within the School of Engineering community.”

The newly appointed associate professors for this year are:

Mohammad Alizadeh, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science and Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Laboratory at MIT, focuses his research in the areas of networks and computer systems. His research aims to improve the performance, robustness and manageability of future networks and cloud computing systems. His current research covers three areas of networking: learning-based resource management for networked systems, programmable networks, and algorithms and protocols for data center networks. He is also interested in the modeling and analysis of computer system performance and the theory and practice of computer systems design.

Kwanghun Chung, Department of Chemical Engineering, Institute of Medical Engineering and Science, and Picower Institute, is dedicated to the development and application of new technologies for a holistic understanding of complex biological systems on a large scale. His research team is developing a multitude of methods that allow the identification of functional networks at several scales and the interrogation of their multifactorial interactions at the scale of the system. He applies these technologies to study the function and dysfunction of the brain. His research interests include neuroscience, medical imaging, brain mapping, high throughput technologies, polymer science, tissue engineering, microfluidics.

Areg Danagoulian, Department of Nuclear Science and Engineering, focuses his current research on the applications of nuclear physics to nuclear security. This includes technical issues of nuclear non-proliferation, treaty verification technologies, nuclear safeguards and cargo security. His current research areas include the verification of nuclear disarmament via resonant phenomena and new concepts of nuclear detection.

Ruonan Han, Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science, is a senior faculty member at Microsystems Technology Laboratories. His research aims to push the speed limits of microelectronic circuits in order to bridge the “terahertz divide” between the microwave and infrared domains. He is also interested in the innovative interactions between electronics, electromagnetism and quantum physics for the development of large-scale high-frequency microsystems, which allow new applications in detection, metrology, security and communication.

Heather J. Kulik, Department of Chemical Engineering, relies on computer modeling to aid in the discovery of new materials and mechanisms. His group is advancing data-driven machine learning models to enable rapid design of open-shell transition metal complexes. She advances fundamental theories to enable accurate and low-cost modeling of quantum mechanical properties of transition metal complexes and high-throughput screening software to reveal design principles and develop machine learning models based on them. data for the rapid design of open-shell transition metal complexes. His group uses these tools to bridge the gap from heterogeneous catalysis to homogeneous and enzymatic catalysis. The methods she develops allow the prediction of new material properties in seconds, the exploration of design spaces of millions of compounds, and the identification of design rules and exceptions that go beyond the intuition.

Elsa Olivetti, Department of Materials Science and Engineering, focuses her research on the design, manufacture and end-of-life recovery of sustainable and scalable materials in the larger context in which the materials are used. She is particularly interested in linking strategies to reduce the environmental load of materials at different length scales, from atoms and molecules to industrial processes and materials markets. She conducts work to shed light on our understanding of the complex and nuanced implications of substitution, dematerialization and waste extraction on the sustainability of materials.

Alberto Rodriguez, associate professor of the class of 1957 in the Department of Mechanical Engineering, heads the MIT Mechanics and Manipulation Laboratory (MCube), which studies the skillful autonomous manipulation and automation of robots. He is also an associate head of household at the MIT Graduate Dormitory in Sidney-Pacific, where he lives with his family. He graduated in Mathematics (2005) and Telecommunications Engineering (2006) from the Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya and received his PhD (2013) from the Institute of Robotics at Carnegie Mellon University. Rodriguez received the Best Paper Awards at the RSS’11, ICRA’13, RSS’18, IROS’18, RSS’19 and ICRA’21 conferences, as well as Amazon’s Best Manipulation System Paper Award 2018 and IEEE transactions 2020 Robotics King-Sun Fu Memorial Award for Best Paper. He was a finalist for the best paper awards at IROS’16, IROS’18, ICRA’20, RSS’20 and ICRA’21. He led the MIT-Princeton team in the Amazon Robotics Challenge between 2015 and 2017, and received research awards from Amazon faculty in 2018, 2019, and 2020, and Google in 2020. He is also a recipient. of the IEEE Early Academic Career Award 2020. in Robotics and Automation.

James Swan, from the Department of Chemical Engineering, focuses on how microstructured materials, especially nanoparticles, can be manipulated for the benefit of society. His soft matter research is extensive and has included precise measurements of biophysical forces and self-assembling nanoparticles in microgravity. It aims to combine theory and simulation to model fluid mechanics and non-equilibrium statistical physics which are fundamental for complex fluids and other soft materials. His other research interests include computational fluid mechanics and colloid science, flow properties, biophysical media, and directed self-assembly of nanomaterials.



Comments are closed.