Summer time 2022: at what time do we change the clock?


Spring and summer are in sight for those living in the United States, some of which had a very harsh winter. And now, for those observing Daylight Savings Time, it’s time to move the clocks forward one hour as the days continue to get longer.

Yes, so there is always the risk that you will be late for an appointment this Sunday or Monday, but with more and more digital devices and wearables updating automatically, be careful if you use that as an excuse. If you are in one of the states involved in this usual time travelread on and find out more.

When do the clocks change to daylight saving time?

The biannual ritual of changing the clock dates back to the First World War. But it wasn’t until the Uniform Time Act of 1966 that the process was coordinated across most of the United States with some quirks in some places. Not all states observe the time change, and it was not until 2007 that Indiana as a whole observed the change.

The current schedule of setting clocks twice a year was established under the Energy Policy Act of 2005. Part of the legislation extended daylight saving time by one month, move the time change from the second Sunday in March to the first Sunday in November.

Summer time 2022:

  • March 13, 2022: the clocks go forward at 2 a.m.
  • November 6, 2022: the clocks go back to 2 a.m.

Do Americans agree with daylight saving time?

A 2019 survey found that 71% of Americans don’t like change their clocks come and go twice a year. The problem is to know which system to use, summer time, with an additional hour of sunshine, or winter time. Lawmakers in Washington and several state legislatures introduced bills to make DST permanent, 19 passed bills or resolutions to do this, some on the condition that their neighbors do the same.

The problem is that according to the 2019 AP-NORC poll more Americans, 40%, would prefer to have standard time year-round. Add to that, another CBS poll just four years prior found that Americans were split on whether or not they wanted the twice-a-year daylight saving time change.

Which countries observe daylight saving time?

The practice of following summer time from spring to fall occurs primarily in the northern and southern hemispheres. Due to the Earth’s tilt, day length changes from season to season. Countries around the equator do not experience much difference, if applicable, to the amount of sunshine they receive throughout the year.

Several countries have already abandoned the practice of back and forth time during the year. Russia, a very northern country where some parts are in perpetual darkness or light during certain parts of the year, abandoned the practice in 2010 citing health concerns for its citizens.

The United States is one of approximately 70 countries that change their clocks twice a year, but this number can be reduced. The European Union plans to retain perpetual daylight saving time and had wanted to end the practice of adjusting the time twice a year by 2021. However, the proposal was approved in 2018, but the covid-19 pandemic delayed the implementation of the permanent abandonment of standard time.

Unlike the United States, resident of the European Union change clocks on the last Sunday of March and October. So remember this if you are working when a sporting event starts on the continent.


Comments are closed.